Skip to content

white cheddar crab mac and cheese

Thursday, April 1, 2010

Sorry for the bad pic, I had to use my phone.

Doesn’t this sound decadent? Well, it is so simple and easy to make. I was out and about running errands on foot enjoying a sunny and WARM weather day (warm weather is unusual for Seattle in March) not even thinking about what to have for dinner until I realized…it’s time for dinner. I remembered that I had some left over crab (from making sushi rolls) and some sharp white cheddar Irish cheese in the fridge. Throw in some noodles and I have a meal.

I made a stove pot mac and cheese and it was quick to throw together. I apologize in advance for not having proper measurements and this will not always be the case. Making something like mac and cheese is so simple for me because I’ve done it many times and don’t measure anymore. I toss in a pinch of this and that and eyeball it. If you don’t feel comfortable with this don’t worry, you’ll get the hang of it. Do NOT ever do this with baking; always, always measure.

 
White Cheddar Crab Mac and Cheese
 2 ½ handfuls of pasta (I have small hands)
almost 1 tbs. of butter
rounded tablespoon of flour
approx. 1/3 cup of milk
1tbs of cream cheese
1/3 of loosely packed sharp white cheddar
a small pinch of red pepper flakes and nutmeg (optional)
a large pinch of paprika, garlic powder and mustard powder (optional)
salt and pepper
small handful of crab meat (I only had a small amount left, use more if you like)

 

Boil your noodles and drain in a colander. With the same pot melt the butter, once melted add the flour and stir until thoroughly combined and you cannot see any more flour. Pour in the milk and stir; if it doesn’t come together into a thick and smooth white sauce go ahead and whisk it. Once you have a smooth white sauce add the cream cheese; stir until melted and then add all the seasonings, stir, and then mix in the white cheddar and crab. Salt and pepper to taste. Taste your sauce to ensure it is to your liking, add more seasonings as you see fit. Lastly, add back your noodles (you may need to rinse them under water) and stir to combine everything until you have a creamy mac and cheese.

I also had some green beans in the fridge so I used that as a side.

What is great with a recipe like this is you can use any cheese you have on hand and any seasonings that you like. It is completely customizable to suit your taste.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Candy permalink
    Thursday, April 1, 2010 12:38 pm

    All I can say is that I better start cooking. If I follow your easy to do recipes I might take a shot at it in the future.

  2. Kim Cooper permalink
    Thursday, April 1, 2010 1:31 pm

    Oh my gosh! This Crab Mac and cheese looks amazing! I’m making it tonight! YUM!!! Congratulations on your new blog! It’s going to be fun to read!!!! Thanks for the new recipe!

  3. Beth permalink
    Thursday, April 1, 2010 7:26 pm

    I wish I could get decent crab here in Iowa, cause if I could, I would definitely be making this. I guess I can wait till I come visit next time and you can make it for me :). Yummy!

    • Friday, April 2, 2010 3:54 pm

      Check and see if you can get frozen crab. It would work just the same.

  4. bigbangbuddha permalink
    Saturday, April 3, 2010 3:37 pm

    What a great site! Food creation ‘the experience’ instead of just another recipe manual.

Leave a Reply

