Skip to content

roasted chicken breast

Sunday, April 4, 2010

First, let me start my saying that I was not going to post about my chicken and as a result, my pictures aren’t pretty, but they get the point across. I was roasting chicken breasts and they turned out sooooo good that I had to share it with you. Second, I’m going to reiterate a secret that I’m sure most of you know, but for those of you that don’t this will save you a few dollars and your chicken will taste great. I always bought boneless and skinless chicken breasts for everything, but I kept hearing that buying bone-in and skin-on was cheaper. Well, it is cheaper and your chicken will have a lot more flavor when you cook it.

I’m a little picky when I’m purchase chicken; I need to know that it was raised without any hormones and antibiotics, it was treated humanely and fed a healthy natural diet. These chicken breasts cost more so I wasn’t purchasing them often. When I looked at the cost of the same chicken breast with the bone-in and skin-on, I realized I could afford it. The cost savings at my grocery store was about 40%. (Another bonus is the breasts are a little larger with more meat since they haven’t been sliced off the bone.)

When roasting the chicken breasts, leave the bone in and skin on. This will really give you more flavor and tenderness. It is also easier to remove the meat after it is cooked, and there isn’t a need to touch the raw chicken skin.

Roasted Chicken Breasts
as many chicken breasts as you need
olive oil
salt
pepper
garlic powder
poultry seasoning
cayenne pepper

Preheat oven to 415°F. Cover a cookie sheet with foil, this step makes for easy clean up. Trim off excess fat that is on the perimeter of the chicken.  I use a fork to stabilize the chicken as I cut off fat with a knife then use tongs to handle it. Flip upside down and drizzle with olive oil then top with seasonings. Use the cayenne sparingly unless you like hot spices. Flip breast side up and drizzle with olive oil and seasonings. Bake in oven for approximately 45 minutes.

When I checked my chicken to see if it was done it was so moist the meat fell off. Use any seasonings you like, mine above are just suggestions. I roasted two breasts and used the second one throughout the week on salads and in wraps. I just wish I had prepared better for such amazing tasting chicken. The juices on the cookie sheet looked so good and I should’ve made pan graving from the drippings.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

