Skip to content

kale chips

Saturday, April 10, 2010

In my quest for tasty kale, I decided to make kale chips. They seem to be popping up on everything food related I read. The small bunch of kale I purchased has lasted quite some time, in thanks to the Debbie Meyer Green Bags my mom gave me. I wondered if these kale chips really were tasty and you know what…they were.



Who knew a kale chip could taste good. I still wonder though if they have any nutritional value. Over cooking vegetables renders then useless in that department. They took about twenty-five minutes to make and twenty of those were baking minutes. Either way, I was pleasantly surprised with my results. If you have decided to add kale into your diet, I hope you give kale chips a try.

Kale Chips
1 kale stalk to a whole bunch
olive oil
garlic powder
salt
small pinch of cayenne pepper

Preheat oven to 300°. Clean kale and dry completely. Remove leafy portion, discarding center stalk. Tear up leaves into small pieces and toss with olive oil, garlic powder, salt and cayenne pepper in a large mixing bowl. All kale pieces should be coated with olive oil but not saturated in it. Place the kale in a single layer on a cookie sheet. (I covered my sheet in parchment paper first for easier clean up.) Bake for approximately 20 minutes. The kale will be crispy just like a potato chip!

Once again, use any seasonings that you like. If you make these let me know what you think. I’d like to hear your take on them.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Hollis permalink
    Wednesday, April 28, 2010 11:37 am

    Heather — your blog looks great! I love the visuals, not the least of which is your kitty sous chef. I’m printing out the recipe for kale chips as we “speak,” and will make them tonight with my Thomas Keller roast chicken — the best and easiest way to prep a bird that I’ve come across.

    Love this!

    Hollis

Leave a Reply

