Skip to content

sole meunière

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Let me start my apologizing for the missing photo above. I was so excited to eat I forgot to take a final image. There, now let’s get started on this dish. While picking up a few items at the market, I noticed Dover sole was on special and I decided it was time to try to make sole meunière for dinner again. I made it once before, but it didn’t taste great. Lemon is a key ingredient in this dish and I overused it. Who wants to eat tart fish? I’m happy to report that round two was delicious and I’m already scheming on what to add to the recipe for next time.

This recipe comes from Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics. The Barefoot Contessa (aka Ina Garten) is one of my cooking role models. I love her Food Network show and her cookbooks. She makes cooking look so easy and fun. Ina Garten’s Easy Sole Meunière recipe is just that, easy. Just don’t go crazy with lemon. Don’t let the fancy French word intimidate you, it’s just fish cooked in a butter and lemon sauce. Also, sole is an affordable fish and if you can’t find it in your local store substitute another flat, white fish.

I served this with a simple green salad and roasted potatoes. Slender green beans would be a nice addition in a few months. Why not get French green beans to complete the French theme. Most stores carry them and are labeled either, French green beans or haricot vert (French for green bean).

As I mentioned above, the first time I made this it didn’t turn out right. Learn from your mistakes, that is what will make you a good cook. I used an easy recipe and still messed up. Cooking is all about trial and error so keep trying.

This recipe is adapted from Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics. Only three fillets were in my packet of fish so I adapted the ingredients for that many fillets. The actual recipe calls for four. I also forgot to add the parsley; therefore, I omit it from my list. To view Ina Garten’s recipe please click here.

Sole Meunière
1/3 cup flour
1 ½ tsp salt and 3/4 tsp pepper
3 fresh sole fillets
3 tablespoons butter
3/4 tsp grated lemon zest
juice of one large lemon

Combine flour, salt and pepper in a large shallow plate. Pat the sole dry with paper towels and sprinkle one side with salt.

Heat butter in a large pan over medium heat until it starts to brown. Dredge both sides of the sole in the seasoned flour and place them in the hot butter. Lower the heat to medium-low and cook for two minutes. Carefully flip the fish and cook the other side for two minutes. While the second side cooks add the lemon zest and lemon juice to the pan. Carefully put the fish fillets on two plates and pour the sauce over the sole.

My pan was large enough to fit three fillets. In the actual recipe Ina Garten cooked two and kept them warm in the oven while she cooked the last two. Please follow her recipe if this is the case for you.

Substitute the flour for a gluten-free flour if you need to. I use Bob’s general gluten-free flour mix sometimes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

