Skip to content

creamy fettuccine with prosciutto

Thursday, April 29, 2010

When I saw this photo in my Bon Appetit magazine advertising their recipe website, I was hooked. Almost eight years ago I visited Italy and discovered creamy tortellini with prosciutto. It changed my life. (Yes, food has the ability to change my life.) I ordered it in every town I visited. I still dream of this dish. I can’t wait to return to eat it again. I was lucky and found an Italian restaurant here in Seattle resembling my life changing dish, only using fettuccine instead. This dish is soooo good. If you have the chance to visit Mamma Melina’s restaurant I suggest you do so. Her husband plays the piano and sings opera for the patrons. It is a wonderful experience. Click on Mamma Melina for details.

I couldn’t wait to make this dish I saw in my magazine; I thought maybe I could make something at home that resembled my dream dish. I did cook it and it didn’t resemble my dream dish very well. However, it did taste pretty amazing. I think this pasta dish would please everyone. It’s a simple dish to make and if you have all the ingredients prepped before you start, it’s quick. I washed, chopped and set-up everything before I started. The culinary term for this is, mise en place. It’s French, but a lot of culinary terms are.

I suggest you make this as soon as possible. Make it for one or for a dinner party. With creamy sauce, prosciutto and veggies, it is sure to be a crowd pleaser.

Creamy Fettuccine with Prosciutto
Adapted from Bon Appetit

The changes I made to this recipe were omitting the chives and peas because I didn’t have any and cutting the entire recipe in half since I made it for myself. For the full recipe please click on Bon Appetit above.

4 ounces asparagus, trimmed, cut into 1/2-inch lengths (approx 6-8 spears)
2 tbs unsalted butter
2 ounces thinly sliced prosciutto, cut into 1/4-inch strips (approx 3 slices)
4 ounces crimini mushrooms, sliced (approx 4-5)
1/2 cup whipping cream
8 cherry tomatoes, halved
1/2 pound fettuccine (half a box)
1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese (about 1 ounces)

Do ahead
Clean and chop asparagus, clean and slice mushrooms, slice prosciutto, clean and slice tomatoes. Measure out butter and whipping cream.

Putting it together
Cook asparagus in large pot of boiling salted water until crisp-tender, about 3 minutes. Using slotted spoon, transfer to bowl of cold water and set aside. Reserve water in pot over low heat.

Melt butter in large skillet over medium-low heat. Add prosciutto and stir 1 minute. Add mushrooms and sauté until golden, about 3 minutes. Add asparagus and cream and simmer until cream is reduced by 1/3, about 2 minutes. Turn heat down to low. Mix in cherry tomatoes.

Bring reserved water in pot back to a boil. Add pasta and cook until tender but still firm to bite, stirring occasionally. Drain. Add pasta to skillet with sauce and toss to coat over low heat. Season to taste with pepper.(I omitted salt because prosciutto and parmesan are both salty.) Remove from heat. Stir in cheese. Plate and enjoy.

*My sauce didn’t reduce enough for me so I sprinkled a couple pinches of flour into it.

Make this gluten-free by using gluten-free noodles and vegetarian by omitting the prosciutto. To cut calories you can use half and half, but it will take longer for the sauce to reduce.

Tip
To properly clean mushrooms, dampen a towel or paper towel and gently wash the mushrooms. Never wash it directly in water, this will waterlog it and cause the mushroom to become rubbery and tasteless.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Monday, May 3, 2010 12:52 pm

    This looks SO yummy! I will definitely have to make this at some point.

Leave a Reply

