Skip to content

cherry tomato pizza margherita

Thursday, May 6, 2010

Like I said in the previous post, I like to make pizza. I was flipping through my Bon Appetit mag and saw a full page picture of this pizza. It is a slight spin on a traditional pizza margherita. I had some left over prosciutto so I added that to it and I think mushrooms would’ve made this pizza perfect. It was sooooo good.

There is quite a bit more cheese on this pizza than I ever use so that was a treat. It’s all mozzerella, which I love. The recipe calls for fresh mozzerella and that is all I use. If you use other types of mozzerella; like the Precious brand, that is fine, it’s just a little rubbery for me though. Mozzerella should be soft and difficult to slice.

I encourage you try making pizza at home, at least add your own toppings if you buy a store bought dough. I have found a lot of my pizzas are better than what I get at restaurants.

Cherry Tomato Pizza Margherita
adapted from Bon Appetit

1 pizza dough (my recipe)
1 tbs olive oil
1 12-oz bag cherry tomatoes
sprinkling of garlic powder
salt and pepper
1/2 tsp fennel seeds, coarsley crushed (I used my meat mallot)
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
2 4-oz fresh mozzerella balls diced
8-10 chopped basil leaves plus more for garnish

Position rack in top third of oven and preheat oven to 425°F. Heat large skillet over medium-high heat. Add olive oil, then tomatoes; sprinkle with salt and pepper. Saute until tomatoes start to char and begin to break down, about 5-7 minutes. Transfer to large bowl and mix in garlic powder, fennel seeds and crushed red pepper flakes. Using back of fork, crush tomatoes in bowl leaving large chuncks in tact. Season with salt and pepper and add chopped basil leaves.

Sprinkle cheese evenly over dough and spoon tomotoes over the cheese. Bake pizza until crisp and cheese is melted. Sprinkle the remaining basil over the pizza then slice and serve!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

