Skip to content

pop tarts

Wednesday, May 12, 2010
tags:

Did you ever eat these when you were a kid? Do you still eat these? I’ll admit that I ate pop tarts when I was younger; I’m not sure why because they taste like hard cardboard with a bit of stale jam. This is another recipe from my Bon Appetit, my April issue was a gold mine. Home-made pop tarts were my contribution to Mother’s Day brunch. These pop tarts were not only well received, but they were gobbled up. Make these for breakfast or brunch for friends and family. Make them for yourself and bake them off as you need them. You freeze them up until you bake them anyway.

I thought they would be complicated to make, but in fact they were easy. The only complication I had was rolling out the dough to the precise dimensions called for. I didn’t accomplish it by any means, I can’t roll dough out in a square to save my life. I rolled out small…ummm shapes, yeah shapes and used a small ruler to measure out my rectangles. I also used vegan butter to make the dough since my mom is a vegan and it was Mother’s Day.

Try these, I know you won’t be disppointed.

Pop Tarts
adapted from Bon Appetit

2 cups plus 2 tbsp all purpose flour plus additional for shaping and rolling
1 tsp salt
1 tsp sugar
1 cup (2 sticks) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes (I used Earth Balance vegan butter)
5 1/2 tbsp ice water (recipe called for 4)
12 tbsp raspberry preserves (or flavor of choice)
Powdered sugar

Whisk 2 cups plus 2 tablespoons flour, salt, and sugar in large bowl. Add butter. Using fingertips or back of fork, blend in butter until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add ice water by tablespoonfuls, tossing until moist clumps form. Gather dough into ball. Divide in half; shape each half into disk. Wrap in plastic. Chill at least 1 hour.

Line 2 large rimmed baking sheets with parchment. Working with 1 disk at a time, roll out dough on floured surface to about 13×11 inches. I rolled my dough out on parchment paper as well since it was sticking to the counter; and like I said above, I couldn’t roll my dough into a square or to the dimensions listed. (I also found it easier to roll once the chill from the fridge was gone, about 10 minutes.) Trim to 12×10-inch rectangle, then cut into eight 5×3-inch rectangles. I cut my rectangles in half so I could have more.

Arrange rectangles, spaced apart, on each sheet. Spoon approx. 1 teaspoon (1 tablespoon if making full size) of preserves in center of each rectangle. Top preserves with second dough rectangle. Using fingertips, gently press all edges of each tart to seal; press all edges with tines of fork to double-seal. Using fork, poke holes in center of top dough rectangle. Cover; freeze tarts on sheets at least 2 hours and up to 1 week.

Position 1 rack in top third and 1 rack in bottom third of oven and preheat to 375°F. Bake frozen tarts uncovered until golden, reversing sheets after 15 minutes, 25 to 30 minutes total (some preserves may leak out). Immediately transfer tarts to rack. Sift powdered sugar lightly over and serve.

*Make these vegan by using vegan baking butter, there isn’t a taste difference at all.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lee permalink
    Sunday, May 16, 2010 10:47 am

    Very exciting – I’ll make them for a vegan friend! Yay! Thanks for the tips. -Lee

Leave a Reply

