Skip to content

oatmeal raisin cookies

Friday, May 21, 2010

Sorry for the lag between posts; I was off visiting a friend.

While stocking up on groceries at Trader Joes, I caught a glimpse of oatmeall raisin cookies in a box. They were tempting to grab, but why buy them when I could easily make them at home. I back tracked my way to the raisins and I was set to bake. 

In the past I’ve substituted chocolate chips for raisins, but for some reason raisins sounded good. I wanted a chewy cookie that still had some crispiness to it so I started looking for the right recipe. I found one in my Back to Basics cookbook by Ina Garten describing the very texture I was looking for. Then when I started baking, I noticed that Ina Garten’s recipe was basically adapted from the recipe on my Quaker Oats lid; she just added pecans and more raisins.

I tweaked the recipe to fit my needs and tastes, don’t hesitate to do the same. I didn’t have any pecans and threw in some unused mini-chips from my kitchen failure cookies. Everything is better with chocolate, right? My cookies were also a little more crispy then I wanted, that easily could’ve been my fault though since I wasn’t paying attention to the time and overbaked each sheet by a few minutes.

These cookies can be eaten at all times of day. I decided since they are oatmeal raisin I can eat them for breakfast, but I like them most in the afternoon with tea.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies
adapted from Back to Basics which is adapted from Quaker Oats

I halved the recipe, used quick cooking oats since that is what I had, added mini chocolate chips and more raisins and used half unbleached flour and half oat flour.

1 stick unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup brown sugar, lightly packed
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 extra-large egg, at room temperature
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
3/4 cup all-purpose flour (I used half oat flour, use what you have)
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups oatmeal
1 cup raisins
1/4 cup mini chocolate chips (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment or hand mixer, beat the butter, brown sugar, and granulated sugar together on medium-high speed until light and fluffy. With the mixer on low, add the egg and vanilla.

Sift the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt into a bowl. With the mixer on low, slowly add the dry ingredients to the butter and sugar. Add the oats, raisins and mini chips and mix just until combined.

Drop 2-inch mounds of dough onto sheet pans. Flatten slightly with a damp hand. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, until lightly browned. Transfer the cookies to a baking rack and cool completely.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

