Skip to content

“tropical” fried rice

Monday, May 24, 2010

As you have may have noticed with most of my posts, I use and adapt other recipes. I make my own up as well, but I haven’t got to some and other are in my test kitchen needing some tweaking and adjusting. For lunch today, I thought I would experiment with making fried rice and see how it tasted. It’s tropical because I added pineapple and cilantro.

While at the store I saw a pineapple that came from Hawaii so I snatched it up quickly. Most of the pineapples in the store come from Costa Rica and I consider it a treat if I find one from Hawaii. (I came home with 6 pineapples from Maui once.) I intended on coming up with different ways to use it, unfortunately I ate most of it before I could do that. With some leftover brown rice and chicken I cooked this up in no time for lunch.

Use anything you have for inspiration to make your own fried rice; don’t feel like you have to follow my ingredient list. A lot of people don’t like cilantro, they say it taste like soap. Ummm, what? I happen to LOVE cilantro, I love the clean taste and think more is always better. Now, if you happen to like the taste of cilantro like me, but can never get through the entire bunch before it goes bad, then pick it up in nifty frozen cubes at Trader Joes. I think the frozen cube idea is great, you just pop it out when you need it. Use whatever herbs you like.

Tropical Fried Rice for one
measurements are estimates since I just tossed everything in

1 cup cooked rice
1 tbs chopped shallot or onion
1 tbs of chopped carrot
1 clove of  chopped garlic
1/4 cup of chopped cooked chicken
1/4 cup chopped pineapple
a few swirls around the pan of soy sauce
1 egg
small palmfuls of garlic powder, onion powder, coriander, cayenne pepper and celery salt
1 frozen cilantro cube, or 1 tbs of fresh cilantro

Add some oil to your pan and toss in the chopped shallot or onion and carrots. (I used olive oil, if I’d had sesame oil I would’ve used that, but use what you have.) Once they have slightly softened, 3-5 minutes, add your chopped garlic and chicken. Let cook together for a few minutes then add your rice, pineapple, soy sauce and seasonings. I used low-sodium soy sauce and added a minimal amount of celery salt. Since soy sauce is salty taste it before you add any salt, you don’t want an overly salty dish.

Once everything starts to look like fried rice, add your cilantro and egg. Push your rice over to one side of the pan and scramble your egg in the other. When the egg has cooked mix it in with everything else. Serve with fresh chopped pineapple tossed on top.

If I’d had a jalapeno, I would’ve chopped that up instead of using the cayenne pepper.

*Leave out the chicken and you have a vegan dish.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Monday, May 24, 2010 6:51 pm

    This looks SO yummy!

Leave a Reply

