Skip to content

chipotle cheddar mac and cheese

Tuesday, May 25, 2010

Another mac and cheese recipe again? I hadn’t even planned on sharing my unplanned mac and cheese dinner with you, but it tasted so good I thought you should know about it. Mac and cheese is very versatile and depending on what you have on hand, you can whip it up quickly. This was not on the menu tonight. I had intended to make something delicious and post it for all of you to drool over, but do to an error and an unsuccessful attempt to correct it, you’ll have to wait. I’ll share with you what when wrong when I actually make and post it in the very near future.

One of my favorite activities at the store is to gawk at all the spices and seasonings. I have the option of buying them in the brand bottles or buying as much or as little as I want in the bulk section. My spice cabinet is a disaster of bottles and little ziplock bags that I sort through everyday looking for what I need. I have big intentions to organize it…one day. Today I came home with dry chipotle seasoning; I can never get through a can of chipotle in adobo sauce and thought this would be a good substitute and addition to my cabinet.

This recipe is essentially the same as the crab mac and cheese, I just changed the cheese and added a little kick.

Chipotle Cheddar Mac and Cheese
since I didn’t intend to share this with you I didn’t measure anything. These measurements are my best guesses.

1 1/2 – 2 cups of small shaped pasta
1 tbs of butter
1 tbs of flour
1/2 – 2/3 cup of chicken broth
1/4 cup or less of whipping cream (I didn’t have any milk, that is why I combined the broth and cream)
small palmful of garlic and mustard powder
very small palmful of chipotle powder (this packed a punch for me, if you like heat use more)
1/3 – 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese (use more if you like, I used extra sharp cheddar)
salt and pepper
paprika
4 broccoli florets (optional)

Boil noodles according to package instructions. Drain, toss the broccoli onto hot noodles to steam and set aside. In same pot melt butter and add flour. Cook until flour is all mixed in and you have a paste, stir in broth and cream. (If you have milk go ahead and use it, this was my best substitute.) Once this is thickened up, stir in the garlic, mustard and chipotle powder. Add in the cheese and stir to combine everything. Taste for salt and pepper and add to your liking. At first tasting, I could still taste a little of the chicken broth, I added a little more seasonings and couldn’t taste it anymore.

Chop the broccoli and add with the noodles to the cheese sauce. Stir to combine everything then serve. Sprinkle with the paprika after plated. No, that wasn’t chipotle sprinkled on top. I’m not insane, there is no way I could handle that.

*Make this vegetarian by using vegetable broth.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Hollis permalink
    Thursday, June 3, 2010 5:32 pm

    Hey, Heather –another tantalizing recipe; I’ll definately give it a try, as I am a Cheese Glutton. I’m working on a photo series entitled, “Who We Had For Dinner 2010.” Photos of naked chickens, etc.

    Stay in touch.

    Hollis

    • Thursday, June 3, 2010 8:18 pm

      It really was so good. I can’t wait to see your photos! I’m also sorry I missed you the other day. I guess I arrived just answer you left. I’ll miss you!

Leave a Reply

