Skip to content

salmon cakes

Saturday, May 29, 2010

Remember my chipotle cheddar mac and cheese back up dinner from the other night? Well this is the modified version of what I intended to make. Let me take you back a few nights ago. I took a whole crab that my dad trapped and passed on to me out of the freezer to defrost. I had picked up a few things at the grocery store to make crab cakes for dinner. I love crab cakes. To be honest, I love anything crab. Unfortunately, the crab was really dried out from living in my freezer far to long, but this wasn’t going to stop my craving for crab cakes.

Determined to persevere, I walked down the block to the store to purchase crab meat. The nice man behind the seafood counter told me he should be getting fresh crab in the next day. (I had the option to purchase Krab, but I say no to imitation crab.) Okay, not what I wanted to hear so I walked in the opposite direction a few blocks to the other store. Yay, they had crab! Wait, what, $29.99 a pound! I was stopped cold in my crab cakin’ tracks. The nice man behind seafood counter #2 suggested I make salmon cakes instead because the salmon was more affordable. You bet it was, I had a few salmon fillets sitting in my freezer that my dad caught and passed on to me only three weeks ago. Free had a nice ring to it.

I typically make salmon cakes out of leftover salmon, but I made an exception this time. These were incredibly easy to make. I made it even easier my baking the salmon in the oven for about 7-10 minutes to start the cooking process. I used a few simple ingredients that you might have lying around. I coat my cakes in panko, because it fries better and gives them a crisper texture than what I get with regular bread crumbs. Panko is a Japanese bread flake used a lot in frying, you can find it in most stores in the Asian food aisle. 

My little salmon cakes were delicious and satisfied my craving.

You can make these with crab, tuna or any other leftover fish you have. A lot of times leftover seafood get tossed out, try this recipe with what you have, you might be surprised.

Salmon Cakes
this made enough for 4 little salmon cakes

6-8 oz salmon
1/4 of an orange pepper, chopped
half of a shallot, chopped or 1/4 of a small onion
1 celery stalk, chopped
1 egg
handful of bread crumbs
approx 1 tbs worcestershire sauce
salt and pepper
1 tsp each garlic and onion powder
red pepper flakes
panko

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Salt and pepper salmon fillet and roast in oven 7-10 minutes, depending on the thickness. Remove from oven and let cool before you handle it. Add approx. 1 cup of panko crumbs to a shallow dish, set aside next to an empty plate.

Mix the orange pepper, shallot and celery in a medium size bowl. Start flaking the cooled salmon into small and medium sized pieces. (It’s alright if your salmon is still dark pink in the middle. It was getting partially cooked in the oven and will finish cooking on the stove.) Add the flaked salmon to the bowl, then add the egg, breadcrumbs, worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper, onion and garlic powder and red pepper flakes. Mix it up with a fork then…dig in with your hands! Use your hands to finish mixing in the seasonings and egg.

Form into four patties, dip both sides in the panko and place on the empty plate you set aside earlier. If your having a hard time doing this, then hold the pattie with one hand and pat the panko onto the pattie and place panko side down on the place and pat more panko onto other side.

Before you fry here is a little tip I just picked up. Let salmon cakes rest in the fridge for about an hour, this should reduce the chance of them falling apart while cooking. (I didn’t have time for this, so I stuck mine in the freezer for about 10 minutes.) Heat-up canola or vegetable oil in a fry pan over medium high heat. Make sure entire bottom of pan is coated and it goes up the sides slightly. Take a pinch of your leftover panko and toss it into the hot oil. If it sizzles and browns, your oil is ready.

Gently place your patties into the pan. Cook 3-5 minutes per side. You’ll be able to tell when they are ready to flip, the salmon changes color and the panko starts to brown. Remove from heat and quickly drain on a paper towel. I served my cakes on top of kale and mustard greens. Eat yours whichever way your like.

Delicious Tip: I wish I would’ve added dill to these, but I was in process of eating them when the thought came to me. When I ate the last two cakes the next day, I reheated them in the oven and topped them with sour cream that I squeezed lemon juice into and sprinkled with quite a bit of dried dill. This addition was AMAZING!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rich permalink
    Wednesday, June 2, 2010 8:54 am

    Love this post! The salmon cakes look and sound great but I also like the way you wrote your post. I was smiling the whole time I read it! I’m going to try to make these myself.

Leave a Reply

