Skip to content

too delish blondies

Friday, June 4, 2010
tags:

I saw these on Bakerella’s blog and got started almost immediately. She describes these as a cross between a brownie and a cookie. I guess they are called congo bars down where she resides in Atlanta, but I know them as blondies. I made these while visiting a friend and fellow food blogger, and I thought these would be simple to make in an unfamiliar kitchen. I’ve never made blondies before, but you can count me in with any recipe that calls for chocolate chips.

The ingredient list for these blondies is short and most of you probably have them already. The recipe makes a large batch so you may want to cut it in half. (See the cooks note at the bottom for cutting them in half.) I made the full recipe and my friend ended up freezing them because we couldn’t stop eating them.

My friend getting dinner started in the background.

You will be alarmed when you see how much brown sugar is called for, so they are best eaten with friends. They don’t seem as unhealthy if others are eating them, plus it’s a sure fire way to not eat them all yourself.

Blondies
from Bakerella (She took really amazing photos of these.)

2 3/4 cup all purpose flour
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2/3 cup butter, softened
1 lb. light brown sugar (1 box)
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
11.5 ounce package milk chocolate chips
1 cup chopped nuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Sift flour, baking powder and salt into a large bowl and set aside. Stir brown sugar into softened, room tempature butter in another large bowl until butter disappears. You can use the back of your spoon to help incorporate the two together. Add the eggs one at a time to butter mixture and stir well after each egg, then add the vanilla, chocolate chips and nuts. Mix well. Add flour mixture and stir until well combined.

Coat a 13 X 9 pan with non-stick spray and spread batter evenly into dish. This batter is stickey so rinse your fingers in water to make this process easier. Bake for 30 minutes or until top is golden brown. Make sure you don’t over bake.

Now wasn’t that simple. If you are like me you won’t be able to wait for these to cool down. I started eating them about five minutes out of the oven, beware they will be hot and may fall apart some.

**Cook’s note
I made these blondies a second time after I returned home from visiting my friend and did cut the recipe in half. The only difficulty in doing this was the 3 eggs called for in the full recipe; figuring out 1 1/2 eggs can be daunting. I put on egg in and with the second, I whisked it with a fork in a seperate bowl and did my best to put only half of it into the dough.

Another change the second time around was I sifted the dry ingredients as called for. I didn’t do this the first time since my friend didn’t have a sifter.

My results from cutting the recipe in half and sifting the dry ingredients was a chewier center. I actually preferred the chewier center. The full recipe without sifting was crunchier like a cookie. If you read Bakerella’s blog post you will see that the texture is meant to be a cross between a cookie and a brownie.

Make them and see how they turn out for you!

Leave a Reply

