Skip to content

from the farm stand: eggs over asparagus

Sunday, June 6, 2010

My Seattle neighborhood has an amazing farmers market every Sunday. You can find almost everything there; clothes, honey, chocolate, body products, jewelry, cheese, meat, eggs, you name it. But more importantly, produce. The produce is so fresh it still has the dirt on it in most cases; a lot of the greens are rinsed. I like that I can talk to the farmers and ask questions, they even let you sample their goods. If I purchase a vegetable I’ve never had before, they tell me how to use it and cook it.

I also find it less expensive to buy my produce at the farmers market and my produce lasts longer. Not everything is a bargain, but I feel good giving my dollars to local independent farmers and keeping my money in my area. The farm stands are also a great place to buy organic. Not all farm stands can legally promote they use organic farming methods even if they do, so always ask. Becoming a certified organic farmer can take years and be expensive.

I will be posting more blogs using produce from the farmers market, as well as from my own families garden this summer. So keep a look out on how you can use the local and seasonal produce of Washington in your kitchen.

I’ve been thinking on how to incorporate move vegetables into breakfast lately. The other morning I was watching the Barefoot Contessa on the Food Network and she made scrambled eggs over roasted asparagus. It looked really good and I happened to have locally grown asparagus from my farmers market in the fridge. I love when asparagus season starts here, it has so much more flavor than what it shipped in to the stores during  the winter months.

I used store-bought eggs, but you can also pick those up at the farmers market. Eggs are one of the more costly items, but they last up to two months! I’ll buy some in the coming weeks and let you know what I think.

This meal is really simple and fast. I didn’t have any fresh herbs on hand and used dried instead. Roasting the asparagus only takes a few minutes after the oven is preheated and can be done while scrambling the eggs. This is a great breakfast for one, but would also be simple enough for a crowd.

Eggs Over Asparagus

4-6 stalks of asparagus
olive oil
2 eggs
salt and pepper
a pinch or one shake of dried dill, parsley, basil and garlic powder (use fresh if you have it)
parmesan cheese (optional and any cheese will work)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

Remove the bottom portion of the asparagus stalk then wash and dry. Lay on a roasting pan or cookie sheet and drizzle with olive oil and season with salt and pepper.  Bake for 5-10 minutes, depending on the thickness of your asparagus.

I hope you know how to scramble eggs, but if you don’t I won’t judge you. Whip the eggs with a fork in a small bowl and add all the above seasonings. Cook over medium-low heat. Watch your eggs, if you leave them unattended they may get overcooked, as you can see mine did in the photo up top.

When the asparagus comes out of the oven sprinkle some parmesan cheese over it and the place the eggs on top. I hope you give this a try or try adding a vegetable to your breakfast.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

