Skip to content

apricot glazed chicken

Wednesday, June 9, 2010

 

Looking for a quick weeknight chicken dinner that isn’t the same as last week and the week before? I was looking for the same thing. When it comes to chicken, it is easy to stay with what you know and that can get boring. I was trying to come up with something that my tastebuds haven’t tasted before and I think I found it, apricot glazed chicken. Lately, I’ve been doing a lot of experimenting with combining sweet, savory and spicy in one dish. You’ll notice that a lot of my recipes have red pepper or cayenne in them; know you now why.

I love apricots, but here in Washington they have a short season. I bought apricot jam some time ago and decided to try it with chicken. I didn’t think it was risky enough that it would ruin my chicken if it didn’t turn out. The glaze was super simple and I’m excited to try this again with intensified flavors.

Apricot Glazed Chicken

1 chicken breast (I used bone-in, skin-on, but next time I’ll use skinless, boneless)
2 tbs apricot jam (more or less depending on chicken breast size)
1 swirl of oil (use a flavorless oil)
1-2 tbs water
salt and pepper
garlic powder
red pepper flakes

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

In a bowl combine the apricot jam and oil, stir to combine. Stir in water to thin out the jam. My jam was thick so I used 2 tablespoons to get the right consistancy. You don’t want it to thin, you want it to stick to the chicken. Stir in seasonings and your set. Taste your glaze, you may need to add more seasonings.

Pour the glaze on your chicken, and bake in the oven. I baked mine for 40 minutes, but I had a thick chicken breast. Half way through baking, I spooned up some of the glaze and chicken juice and poured it back over the chicken.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

