Skip to content

from the farm stand: honey mustard carrots

Sunday, June 13, 2010

I visited the seasonal Wednesday farmers market and picked up some flavorful vegetables. It is still a little early for most of Washington’s produce, but you can still find a nice variety of stuff. A couple more weeks and the stands will be overflowing. I picked up carrots, broccoli, radishes, purple kale and a cupcake. Oh wait, I only wish cupcakes were a healthy vegetable. The only flaw in the Wednesday farmers market I visit is it occupies a parking lot to a building with a Trophy Cupcakes.

I love visiting the produce stands and talking with produce experts. I get a lot of tips on how to jazz up the veggies so I’m not always eating them raw or steamed. They are usually pretty cool people also. I got this cooking tip from the lovely ladies at the Full Circle Farm stand, roasted honey mustard carrots. I’ve never thought about carrots with honey mustard, I’ve sauteed them in honey before and they were delish, but this was new. I also have to note that these carrots taste amazing raw, they are full of flavor and sweet.

I would only change one thing with this recipe; add more mustard to the glaze. I’m just starting to like mustard and use it sparingly with everything. Other than that, these carrots were incredibly delicious. The honey and natural sugars carmelized into a dark brown sticky mess and the entire kitchen smelled like sugar. Give carrots new life and try this recipe.

My personal thanks to the ladies at Full Circle Farm for sharing this recipe with me.

Honey Mustard Carrots

4 baby carrots
1/2 tsp dijon mustard
1 – 1/2 tbs honey
salt and pepper
water or stock (optional)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F and place foil over cookie sheet.

Clean carrots and pat dry. In a small bowl, mix mustard, honey and salt and pepper. Only add stock or water if the consistancy is really thick. Taste the glaze to ensure the flavor balance is to your liking. Place carrots on cookie sheet and pour glaze over them. Using your hands, coat the entire surface of the carrots. Bake for approx. 20 minutes. You may need to bake longer depending on the thickness of your carrots. Once a fork goes is smoothly, they are finished.

I hope you like these as much as I did! Below is the delicious cupcake I picked up at Trophy. It was the Tigertail which is coconut cake with  rasperberry buttercream frosting. Yum!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sunday, June 13, 2010 5:29 pm

    Hello BFF! I am giving you a Blog Award!
    http://foodymommy.blogspot.com/2010/06/yay-im-versatile-blogger.html

Leave a Reply

