Skip to content

recipe flashblack: tuna noodle casserole

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

I know what you are thinking when you read this title. Ummm… tuna noodle casserole? Really? Yes, really. This was one my mom’s go to dinners when I was a child. Pour a can of Campbell’s Cream of Mushroom soup, milk, tuna, and boilded noodles into a casserole dish, bake it and voila! dinner is done.

I still make tuna noodle casserole; it’s one of my comfort dishes, but in the words of Barefoot Contessa, “with the volume turned up.” I still use condensed cream of mushroom soup, but I’ve outgrown Campbells. (Too many man-made ingredients for me.) I add more seasonings to my version, a little color and a nice crispy panko topping.

I usually have noodles, cream of mushroom and tuna in the pantry, so I can throw this together if I can’t think of anything else I want. I don’t always have milk so I occasionaly use stock to thin out the soup. You can substitute anything you like with this dish, left-over chicken instead of tuna, any seasonings, peas and carrots. I got four meals out of this and it tasted great each time.

Tuna Noodle Casserole

8 oz. noodles (half of a typical bag or box of noodles, I used gluten-free fusilli)
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1 can tuna
1/2 milk (I didn’t have any and used cream instead)
small palmful mustard, onion and garlic powder
small palmful parsley and red pepper flakes
salt and pepper
1/2 chopped roasted red pepper from a jar
1 sliced tomato
shreaded cheese
panko bread crumbs

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Boil noodles according to package instructions

While noodles are boiling combine the soup, tuna, milk, seasonings and chopped roasted red pepper. Add noodles and mix everything together. Place the sliced tomatoes on top and bake for 20 minutes. Sprinkle cheese on top and bake until melted. Lastly, sprinkle a layer of panko bread crumbs on top and switch to broil and let them crisp up, mine took less than a 1 minute.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

