Skip to content

cilantro lime rice

Sunday, June 20, 2010

I mentioned in a previous post that I am quite fond of cilantro, but a girl has her limits. The other afternoon my dad stopped by to drop off feshly picked lettuce and swiss chard from the garden, I was expecting these two greens. What I wasn’t expecting was the cilantro.

I was baffled by the size of this and wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it. I’ve been wondering what the mother herb looks like. I planned on storing most of the cilantro for future use, but started googling cilantro for immediate use because I didn’t want to make salsa or guacomole. Cilantro lime rice came up and there were a lot of recipe links. I read a few for reference and decided to wing it.

If you like cilantro and lime, this recipe is a must. I ate it as a side dish and inside a burrito. I also made a large helping and ate it everyday until it was gone. Most of the recipies I glanced at called for Basmati rice, but I used Jasmine since that is what I had. I usually cook and eat short-grain brown rice, but I just knew it wouldn’t work right with this recipe. I think a long-grain rice is the way to go, so use whatever type you have on hand.

Cilantro Lime Rice

1 cup rice
1 1/2 cups broth or water
1/2 – 1 tbs butter
1 1/2 limes juiced
1 lime zested
approx 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
salt and pepper

Rinse and cook rice according to package instructions. Combine rice with butter, liquids and half the lime juice. Once rice is finished cooking, add remaining ingredients and fluff the rice up.

I cooked my rice on the stove top, I switch between this and using my rice cooker. I’m finding more and more that I like the texture of the rice better when cooked on the stove.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

