Skip to content

lazy day veggie chili

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

We’ve all had those days where you just don’t want to leave the house. The weather is awful with the cold, dark gray skies and rain coming down, but you need to buy groceries so you can eat. Well I had one of those days, unfortunately, it was June! I went out once to the farmers market and got soaked, so I skipped the store and curled up on the couch with a blanket and watched a movie instead with my cute and furry little sous-chef. Coming up with dinner could wait.

When the time came to make dinner I only knew that I wanted to save my unused and now wrinkled red pepper from the compost. Chili popped into my head and I knew that my pantry had the two staples needed to make it, beans and tomatoes. I was relieved that I wouldn’t have to drag myself to the store after my day of doing nothing.

Like I said above, I was trying  to save my red pepper. If you have a food item that no longer looks pretty on the outside, take a look at the inside, it may be usable. In the case of my pepper, I was sauteeing and simmering it until it was soft anyway so it didn’t matter that it wasn’t pretty to look at. Along with freshly chopped onion and garlic, three cans from the pantry and seasonings my meal was complete. Not bad for throwing together a dinner with my minimal ingredients and wrinkled red pepper. 

Now I didn’t measure out anything with this chili. Season and flavor the chili to your liking, it is all about how smoky, spicy or even sweet you like. Use what beans you have in your pantry, it doesn’t matter. This chili recipe came about from me using fresh ingredients before they went bad and with items in the back of my pantry. 

Veggie Chili 

half an onion, chopped
half a bell pepper, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, chopped
1 can diced tomatoes
1 can red kidney beans
1 can mixed beans (I used a Santa Fe mix)
garlic, onion and chili powder
ground cumin, coriander and chipotle
salt and pepper
swiss chard (optional)

Sautee onions in olive oil over medium-heat in a soup pot. After about 5 minutes, add the red pepper and garlic. Add your first palmful of the seasonings and mix everything together. Add the can of diced tomatoes and both cans of beans. Turn down the heat, put a lid on the chili and let simmer for 20 minutes. Taste your chili for seasonings and start adding more of you think it needs. I added a lot of everything. Just keep tasting it as you season, you don’t want to over season. If you want to, add a leafy green and let it wilt down.

Top with your favorite toppings and enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Monday, June 28, 2010 6:17 pm

    I gave you another award because you have lovely food and you are my bff!

    http://foodymommy.blogspot.com/2010/06/yay-another-blog-award.html

Leave a Reply

