Skip to content

my paris craving

Sunday, July 25, 2010

Lately, I have been craving the type of sandwich I eat when I’m in Paris. I’ve been lucky enough to visit France several times over the years and I always look forward to a jambon et fromage (ham and cheese) baguette sandwich. This sandwich is as simple as they come: baguette, butter, ham and cheese. No piled on toppings here thank-you-very-much. Since I’m usually on a tight budget when I travel, I eat these sandwiches almost daily when I’m in Paris.

You can find these sandwiches in some stores and restaurants around Seattle, but I can’t get over the cost of them. These sandwiches are considered quick “street” food in Paris and don’t cost too much at all. When sharing my craving and cost complaint with my France loving friend she said, “why don’t you go to the store and buy what you need to make the sandwich yourself.” So, I did.

I was surprised to find the deli in my local store actually carried jambon; which is ham from France that is wet-cured. The price was a little steep by the pound, but I only needed a few slices. You can use any type of deli sliced ham you like though. I also picked up some sliced gruyere cheese. I’m sorry, I can’t think of a substitue of this cheese for you.

I didn’t think I would ever post about a simple sandwich, but this is a great sandwich to take along with you to wherever your day may lead. Sit outside, close your eyes and if you think hard enough, you too can be taken away to Paris. 

Jambon et Fromage

1 fresh baguette loaf
2 slices of jambon or sliced deli ham
1 1/2 slices of gruyere cheese
butter
dijon mustard

Cut off 1/3 of your baguette and then cut that in half. Spread the butter and dijon mustard onto each slice. (I didn’t use a lot of butter because I’m not a huge fan of it on sandwiches, but it does add flavor, I also added dijon for a little kick.) Fold your sliced ham in half length-wise and lay on your baguette. Slice your cheese in half on the diagonal, you should have three halves. Place on top of the ham and you are finished.

Here is some visual inspiration that can help you envision yourself in Paris eating this simply delicious baguette sandwich.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

