Skip to content

soy sauce glazed salmon

Monday, August 2, 2010

My local market has beautiful fillets of salmon right now, so while I was shopping I tossed one into my basket with a vague idea of what I would do with it. A fresh bright pink fillet of salmon tastes great with just a drizzle of oil and salt and pepper, but, I wanted a touch of flavor to coat the outside of the salmon as I bit into it.

Once home, I decided to marinate it in my asian twist glaze that I used to use all the time, but haven’t in a few years. I call it asian twist because it uses a few asian ingredients, but really this marinade came from me rooting through the cupboards years ago and coming up with something that tasted pretty good. I wonder why I stopped using it? Soy sauce and sesame oil are the base of this marinade.

As it happens with most kitchens, I didn’t have all the choice ingredients so I made do with what I had and then added new flavors to the mix. I think this version turned out pretty good, but the original creation is better. My major ingredient change was using olive oil in place of sesame oil since I didn’t have sesame on hand.

Soy Sauce Glazed Salmon

1 salmon fillet
soy sauce ( I used the low-sodium type)
olive oil (use sesame oil if you have it)
honey (I’ll use brown sugar next time)
1/4 shallot, chopped (I usually use green onion)
1 clove of garlic, chopped
pepper
ground ginger
fresh cilantro

Place your salmon fillet in a container or plastic zip lock bag. I didn’t measure the ingredients, but this is pretty easy. Give your soy sauce a few heavy swirls to coat the fillet and a couple of light swirls of the oil. Add the remaining ingredients and make sure to coat the salmon completely. Marinate for at least an hour.

Heat oven to 420 degrees and bake salmon for approximately 7 minutes; more or less depending on the size of your fillet. Let the salmon rest for at least 5 minutes, it may still be dark pink in the middle, but the salmon will continue cooking while it is resting. If you cook the salmon all the way through in the oven you will end up overcooking it won’t be good at all.

Top with the fresh cilantro and enjoy.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tuesday, August 10, 2010 9:19 am

    I am jealous.

Leave a Reply

