Skip to content

birthday brownies

Wednesday, August 4, 2010

While I continue my quest for gainful employment, I volunteer at my local food and clothing bank. One of my fellow volunteer companions who is also looking for a job had a birthday, so I thought I would bake something for her. I flipped through a newer cookbook of mine, then I grabbed a flashlight and went ingredient hunting in my pantry. I had everything to bake brownies. Sour cream brownies to be exact. I haven’t used sour cream in brownies before, so I wasn’t sure how they would turn out. (I’ll tell you now, the batter was soooo good that I actually tried to put my head in the mixing bowl to lick it clean. I have no shame.)

They came out really tasty and chocolaty with a dense texture. If you are used to brownies from a box mix, you may not take to these right away. This recipe calls for bittersweet chocolate and the brownies are not too sweet. If you are a fan of dark chocolate, I think you will like these. Either way, I urge you to make these for a friend or yourself.

I found the recipe in my beautiful cookbook, The Modern Baker by Nick Malgieri. This cookbook inspires me; it is full of information and step-by-step directions. Not all the recipes have images, but those that are included are beautiful.

Look for my addition below. With the left over brownies I had at home, I decided to make a quick blackberry sauce for them.

Sour Cream Brownies
I halved the recipe but the full measurements are in parentheses on the right

3 oz (6 tbsp) unsalted butter cut into 6 pieces  (6 oz, 1 1/2 sticks)
3 1/2 oz bittersweet chocolate, broken up (7 oz)
3/4 cup plus 1 tbsp brown sugar, firmly packed (1 3/4 cup)
2 large eggs (4)
1/4 cup sour cream (1/2 cup)
1/4 tsp salt (1/2 tsp)
1 1/2 tsp vanilla (3 tsp)
3/4 cup flour (1 1/2 cups)
3/4 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped (2 cups) (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Heat the butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Let the butter melt, stirring 2-3 times, allow the butter to come to a bubble for 10 seconds then remove from heat and add the chocolate. Gently shake the pan to cover the chocolate in the hot butter. Set aside to let the chocolate melt then whisk it smooth.

With an electric mixer (if using a stand mixer, use the paddle attachment), beat 1 egg into the brown sugar on the lowest speed. Add the remaining egg(s), one at a time, beating smooth after each. Add the sour cream, salt and vanilla and beat smooth.

With a rubber spatula mix in the butter and chocolate mixture, then add the flour. Once all this is mixed, add the walnuts if you like.

Pour the batter into an 8 x 8 x 2 in. baking dish and smooth the top. (If you make the full recipe you will need to use a 9 x 13 x 2 in. baking dish.) Bake for 25-30 minutes, until the brownies are firm but still moist in the center.

Let cool before you cut into these. If you can’t wait, then do what I do, cut a warm piece off the corner. Since you cut these up anyway, nobody will be the wiser.

Blackberry Sauce

blackberries
sugar
water

I didn’t include measurements because it is all dependent on how many blackberries you use. I only needed a small handful since it was for one brownie.

Heat blackberries over medium heat with a little water. Add the sugar and let everything come to a low boil. With a fork, smash the berries. The water should thicken to a sauce, if it doesn’t, add a little bit more water. If you used too much water, add corn startch. Taste for sweetness and add more sugar if needed.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tuesday, August 10, 2010 9:18 am

    Yum! We should’ve made these while you were here!

Leave a Reply

