Skip to content

from the farm stand: savory zucchini cakes

Monday, August 9, 2010

While watching a cooking show the other day, I saw zucchini cakes being made. With zucchini season in full swing, I knew I had to get some.  As with most vegetables, they taste better if you get them locally grown. I picked up these beautiful zucchini at the farmers market. They aren’t your typical all green zucchini (summer squash), it’s a Costata Romanesco variety. The farmer told me they would taste great for my intended use.

I don’t know much about zucchini; except that my dad grows it like it will be extinct soon, so I looked costada romanesco up and wanted to share my new knowledge with you. It’s an Italian heirloom squash, with a juicy and sweet-nutty flavor. It’s considered to be the best textured and tastiest zucchini, but I think I’ll be the judge of that.

 

I wanted the zucchini to be the star of these cakes, so I kept them simple and didn’t add too much. Zucchini is very watery so you want to get as much water out as you can before you use it, otherwise it won’t be a very good cake.

If you love zucchini or need a new recipe, try this one. I added a dollop of sour cream to the top of mine. These tasted delicious.

Savory Zucchini Cakes
(this only makes 2 large cakes, so double if you want more)

3/4 of a medium zucchini, grated
2 large scallions, chopped (green onion)
1 egg, beaten
1/8 tsp. baking powder
salt and pepper
garlic powder
1/4 tsp lemon zest

Grate zucchini with a cheese grater and put in a strainer over bowl. Lightly salt it to help extract the water. Let sit for about 30 minutes. Squeeze the remaining water out between your hands. Mix in a bowl with the remaining ingredients with the exception of the egg. If you’re wondering, I added the baking powder to help make them a little puffy. With all that water I water I wanted the extra oompf.

Beat an egg, add a little bit at a time slowly. Stir to combine and add a little more egg if necessary. I used half an egg and it was a little too much. If you do the same, don’t worry, just add a small handful of bread crumbs.

Heat olive oil over just-shy medium heat. Shape zucchini mixture into patties and cook for about 4 minutes on each side. They should be browned and crisp.

I served these alongside my first ever attempt of making Indian food. Look for that recipe soon!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

