Skip to content

sweet peach bread

Sunday, September 5, 2010

It’s a rare occasion when you mess up baking something and it still turns out. I did something wrong and got lucky with the outcome. I tried to make something called Dutch Apple Cake with peaches instead of apples. What I ended up with was more like bread than the desired sponge-like cake with a sugary crust the recipe said I could expect.

I can’t blame the recipe because for one, I used peaches since they are in season, two, the recipe used metric measurements and I did my best to convert them via a website and three, I forgot to turn down the oven part way through baking as called for. While the recipe didn’t turn out as intended, it was still delicious.

I can’t guarantee the results if anyone else tries this recipe, but I still wanted to share it because it really was good. I’ll be trying this recipe again soon once apples are in season. I’ll buy the kitchen scale I’ve been eyeing first though.

Sweet Peach Bread
Adapted from Rachel Allen Bakes on the Cooking Channel

2 eggs
3/4 cup superfine sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
6 tbsps butter
2 1/2 oz milk
1/2 cup all-purpose flour (Don’t level off, you need the tad more)
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
2 1/4 tsp baking powder
1 peach

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Line the sides and base of a 8 by 8-inch square dish or cake pan with parchment paper.

Using a stand mixer or hand held mixer, beat the eggs, sugar, and vanilla extract, until the mixture is thick and mousse-like, and the whisk leaves a figure eight pattern, this will take about 5 minutes.

Melt the butter in a saucepan with the milk, and then pour the mixture onto the eggs, beating continuously. Sift in the flour, cinnamon, and baking powder, and fold carefully into the batter so that there are no lumps of flour. Pour the mixture into the prepared pan, and smooth the surface.

Peel the peach, and cut into thin slices around the pit, and then arrange them over the batter. Sprinkle the bread with a little more sugar, and bake in the oven for 10 minutes. Reduce the oven temperature to 350 degrees F, and bake until well risen and golden brown, about 20 to 25minutes.

This will keep in a sealed container for about five days. I liked to warm it back up and sprinkle more cinnamon on top.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

