Skip to content

from the garden: zucchini-potato hash

Saturday, September 11, 2010

I wanted to share this quick and simple recipe that I threw together the other morning. If you are anything like me, you end up with various bits of food in the kitchen that you aren’t quite sure how to use. Well, I had some bits of zucchini, potato, onion and garlic left from my Dad’s garden waiting to be used. Out of nowhere a hash came to mind. Now, for most of my life I associated hash with corn beef hash. You know what I’m talking about, the stuff that comes in a can and looks like dog food.

There will be none of that here, you are able to recoginize everything in this hash. I chopped everything up and sauteed it then added seasonings. I used salt and pepper, and chose fennal seed with this because it is common in a lot of sausages and I thought it would work well with this hash. I topped my hash with an egg and was ready to eat.  This hash took no-time to cook, used up my left overs and was healthy.

Zucchini-Potato Hash
I don’t have measurements for this dish, because I used the odds and ends of my veggies.

zucchini, chopped small
potato, chopped small
onion, chopped small
garlic, chopped
salt
fennal seed
red pepper flakes
cumin powder

Saute veggies over medium heat, add your seasonings. Once the veggies have softened, plate and add an egg over top.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

