Skip to content

simple chicken patties

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

A few weeks ago I was reading my friend’s blog, Foodie Mommie, and came across a chicken burger recipe. What was different about this recipe was that she ground up the chicken breast meat herself in the food processor.  I use the term grinding very loosely because you are actually separating the meat with your processor blades, but the texture is similar to ground chicken meat.

I liked the idea of grinding up my own chicken to do this. I try my best to buy humanely raised chicken, but ground chicken isn’t always labeled with this information at the store. Doing it myself, I know the chicken was treated to my liking.

I took this simple recipe and simplified it even more for my lazy ways. You need very few dishes to make these. I just tossed all the seasonings and other ingredients in with the chicken and let the food processor do all the work for me. I was then able to shape the patties right out of the one bowl and put them on the grill pan.

Below is how I seasoned mine, but you use what you like. The possibilities with this recipe are endless. If you end up with any extra “ground” chicken, make meatballs out of them, that’s what I did.

Chicken Burgers
adapted from Foodie Mommie

The measurements will vary depending on how much chicken meat you use. I used one chicken breast and had enough for one chicken patty and about six meatballs.

1 chicken breast or thigh (bone and skin removed)
dijon mustard
garlic powder
onion powder
fennel seeds
red pepper flakes
salt and pepper
worcestershire sauce
bread crumbs
toppings (cheese, onions, ketchup, mayo, mustard….)

Pour your bread crumbs into a shallow dish and set aside.

Cut your chicken breast into three pieces, place in your food processor and pulse a few times to break down your meat. Add the rest of your ingredients and pulse until everything is incorporated.

Carefully remove the blade and take out a handful of your seasoned chicken and shape into a patty, then gently coat your patty on both sides with your bread crumbs. I grilled mine on the stove top but you can bake or broil these also; they took 5 minutes on each side. For the last-minute I placed my cheese on top and put a foil tent over it to melt it. I grilled my bun for about 30 seconds and topped it with mayo, my chicken patty with cheese, onions and baby swiss chard.

I’m already thinking of new ways to flavor this low-maintenance recipe.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

