Skip to content

gingerbread cupcakes with orange cardamom cream cheese frosting

Monday, December 13, 2010

For the last four days I’ve been turning out cupcakes like a machine. You would think I would be sick of cupcakes at this point, but I’m not. I got to hang out with some awesome people while strangers tasted the cupcakes I spent four days testing and baking. It’s one thing to bake for yourself or friends and family, but strangers can be intimidating. What if they hated them? I would have to stand there and listen to them tell me how bad they tasted. I was quietly happy when everyone remarked on how great they tasted.

You’ll see these cupcakes look very sophisticated in their couture wrappers. These are courtesy of the very talented creator of Bella Cupcake Couture, Carrie Middlemiss (she’s also quite the dancer). I baked over a hundred cupcakes and she brought her beautiful wrappers for ‘Art of the Cupcake’ for Ballard’s Second Saturday Artwalk. Check out her website because your cupcakes will never be complete again without these beautiful wrappers.

I’m just going to get right to the recipe because I told recipe requesters I would get this recipe up quickly for them. I found this recipe on another blog after I tested a recipe I did not like. I made two changes to the cupcakes and one and half with the frosting.

Gingerbread Cupcakes with Orange Cardamom Cream Cheese Frosting
Adapted from gastronomyblog.com, made even better by me.

Cupcakes
8 tbs (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 cup molasses
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup boiling water
1 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp ground cloves
1 tsp fresh orange zest
1/4 tsp fresh ginger, grated
1/4 tsp salt

Frosting
8 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
1 1/2 cups confectioners sugar (powdered)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
2 teaspoons fresh orange zest
1 teaspoon ground cardamom
Candied ginger (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Sift together the flour, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, lemon zest, and salt into a small bowl. Whisk in the orange zest and freshly grated ginger, set aside.

Cream the butter and brown sugar in a large mixing bowl until light and fluffy. Beat in the molasses, egg, and vanilla. In a small bowl, stir together the boiling water and baking soda until dissolved. Stir the baking soda water into the molasses mixture.

Whisk the flour mixture into the molasses mixture until the batter is combined. Line either regular sized or mini cupcake mold with liners and spoon the batter into the prepared muffin cups. Bake the cupcakes until a toothpick inserted in the center of one comes out clean, about 20 minutes. Let cool completely before frosting.

On to the frosting….

Cream the cream cheese and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the vanilla, orange zest and cardamom. Frost and decorate with candied ginger.

Super simple. I’ll post some before shots soon!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Thursday, December 16, 2010 11:15 am

    I tried them…. they were delish!! Great meeting you too 🙂

  2. Chloe permalink
    Saturday, December 25, 2010 10:15 am

    I made these for Christmas eve last night and they were wonderful!!!

    Thank you so much for posting the recipe =)

Trackbacks

  1. Bella Cupcake Couture » Blog Archive » Gingerbread cupcakes with Orange cardamom cream cheese frosting
  2. Gingerbread Cupcakes with Orange Cardamom Cream Cheese Frosting | Cupcake Recipes

Leave a Reply

