Skip to content

spritz

Thursday, December 23, 2010

Something about spritz conjures up Christmas of yesteryear for me. Aren’t spritz something Grandma made? And, how many of us have a cookie press handy? Surprisingly, I have a cookie press. I bought it back in college and I think that may be the last time I used it. I pulled it out of the depths of my pantry and brought new life to it this year. I didn’t have the time or energy for sugar cookie cut-outs this year and since spritz are a butter and sugar based cookie as well, I wanted to try them again.

They didn’t take much time at all and there is no need to chill the dough first like with sugar cookies. It was also quite fun shooting the dough out of the press. I only used two of the patterns successfully. I tried a third and it wasn’t pretty; it looked like a play-doh experiment gone bad. My trees did come out a little chubby though. My cookie press is now back in the depths of my pantry, but I’ll bring it out again next year.

I wasn’t a fan of the recipe that came with my cookie press or in my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook so, I used a little of both.

Spritz

1 (2 sticks) cup of butter, softened
1 cup of sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp almond extract (optional)
1 tsp baking powder
2 1/2 cups flour

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Cream butter and sugar in a stand mixer with paddle attachment (or hand mixer) on high until light and fluffy. Add salt, egg, vanilla and almond extract, mix until combined. Add the baking powder then flour in three batches and mix on low speed. (Now the recipe I used called for sifting the flour before measuring and mixing the flour in with a spoon. I couldn’t be bothered with those extra steps or dishes and the cookies came out fine.)

Follow the directions that came with your cookie press to create your pattern. My cookies baked quickly so check them at 7 minutes.

Tilly investigating the unfamiliar gadget.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Thursday, December 23, 2010 10:32 am

    YUM! I made these yesterday too!! But I colored my dough green and red and put half of each in the press. The cookies came out multi-colored! 🙂 SO CUTE! xoxo

    • Sunday, December 26, 2010 1:21 pm

      I didn’t even think of that. Next year….

Leave a Reply

