Skip to content

happy new year

Saturday, January 1, 2011

Happy New Year everyone! I hope 2011 be filled with lots of delicious food experiences for you; may they be healthy with lots of treats thrown in. Taste something new, and try making something that intimidates you. You’ll be surprised that you can do it!

My blogging resolution is to finish my recipe index page. This will make it easier to find specific recipes and browse by category.

Here is the sweet potato gnocchi I made as a Christmas gift this year. It was difficult to make and I almost threw it away! I stepped away from it for awhile and when I came back, it came together for me.

Sweet Potato Gnocchi

2 medium sized sweet potatoes
2 3/4 cup flour (plus more for shaping the dough)
salt and pepper
a lot of patience

Clean the potatoes and bake at 350 degrees F for 1 hour. Let the hot potatoes cool before handling them. Peel off the skin and put the potato chunks through a potato ricer. Start adding the flour 1/2 cup at a time and mix in. I warn you this will be very messy and you will want to give up. If you need to, walk away like I did. Sweet potatoes are very moist and take more time then a regular potato. Once you have a somewhat smooth ball of dough, cut it into quarters. Knead more flour into these small pieces if you need to. I did, but I didn’t measure how much. Cut the quarters into 2-3 pieces and roll into cigar shapes in additional flour. Cut into small pieces, like the ones pictured above. I rolled out the dough and cut them all on my wooden cutting board.

Use as much flour as you need. You can boil and eat immediately or freeze them for later. I froze mine on parchment paper lined cookie sheets then moved them to ziplock bags once frozen. Do not put the fresh gnocchi into a bag and freeze, you’ll end up with a frozen lump of dough.

Happy New Year!

 

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Saturday, January 1, 2011 11:06 am

    “Try making something that intimidates you” << I like that! I suppose I'll have to get that special ingredient you mentioned for your sweet potato gnocchi– "a lot of patience!" Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

