Skip to content

hawaiian pizza with a kick

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

I have loved Hawaiian pizza since I was a small child. I get scoffed at by many for this love, but I can’t help it, the salty and sweet tastes go together so well. In fact, for most of my life I would only eat pineapple if it was on pizza; I didn’t like it otherwise. Don’t worry, I have since corrected the error of my ways. My second time in Hawaii I visited Maui with a friend, I was in my late twenties and decided to give pineapple a try on its own…I was sold. I couldn’t believe how many years had been wasted, or my first trip to Hawaii as a teenager when I refused to eat it. I came back with six Maui Gold Pineapples from that second Hawaii trip. My  mom gave me warning to not eat so much pineapple at once, but it tasted so amazing I couldn’t stop and ignored her advice. I have no regrets about getting pineapple acid burn in my mouth.

I still love pineapple on pizza and make it every so often, only now I add chopped jalapeno peppers; seeded of course. You get the perfect balance of the sweet and salty, but now taste a little heat with it. I love this combination so much that I have successfully converted everyone who has tasted it.

This pizza is super simple to make and it doesn’t take too much time. (Only the dough takes awhile since it needs to rise.) I’m not giving measurements for this recipe because it’s all subjective to how many toppings each one likes on top of their pizza.

Hawaiian Pizza with a Kick

1 recipe for pizza dough (if you don’t have time make the pizza dough, pick one up at the store. I like Trader Joes.)
pizza sauce
ham (canadian bacon, honey ham, black forest…)
chopped pineapple
jalapeno, seeded and chopped
mozzerella cheese
cheddar cheese

Top your rolled out pizza dough with the sauce and toppings. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Slice and devour.

Wasn’t that super simple?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Susie permalink
    Wednesday, January 19, 2011 11:14 am

    Thank you casual girl !!!! Your recipes never fail to make me HUNGRY !!!!

Leave a Reply

