Skip to content

lemon tea cookies

Thursday, February 17, 2011

When my friends have parties I get asked to contribute something edible most of the time. I’m always happy to oblige since I love my friends and my contributions result in smiles. I was recently asked to bring something to an evening party and I even spent a few days deciding what I should bring and came up with something clever; however, that idea didn’t see the light of day.   You see, I had to wake up extremely early the morning of the party to help a friend go wedding venue hunting.

When I returned home I decided to lay down and take a nap before I started baking, as time inched on it be apparent plan A wasn’t going to happen. Plan B was flipping through a cookbook and finding a cookie recipe that didn’t need more than one egg. I came across this lemon tea cookie recipe and was intrigued. I found this recipe in my rarely used, but oldest cookbook, Better Homes and Garden. You know, the red and white checkered one. I find most people have this staple cookbook or the Betty Crocker version in their collection.

There was only one disappointing aspect to this cookie, the lemon flavor, it was lacking. I didn’t want a hint of lemon, I wanted everyone to know this cookie was a lemon cookie. Luckily, I tasted the dough before I baked the first batch and added more fresh lemon juice and zest. I baked nine cookies and tasted one, nope still not enough lemon. I added more. I was finally pleased with the flavor, but thought it was still missing something. I made a quick glaze of powdered sugar and lemon juice and drizzled it over the cookies. Now I had a lemon tea cookie I could be proud of.

I love lemon and added quite a bit, if you do not like a heavy lemon flavor then scale back on the juice and zest. I will say though, there were no complaints at the party of these cookies being too lemony.

Lemon Tea Cookies
adapted from Better Homes and Garden

You’ll need 2 medium/large lemons

2 1/2 tsp fresh lemon zest (set aside)
2 tsp fresh lemon juice
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup butter
1 3/4 cup flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
5 tbsp lemon juice

lemon juice
powdered sugar

Preheat oven at 350 degrees F.

Stir 2 teaspoons of lemon juice into the milk and set aside for five minutes. Beat the butter with a stand or electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Add half the flour, the sugar, the egg, baking powder, baking soda, lemon zest, and milk mixture. Beat till thoroughly combined. Beat in remaining flour.

Drop small rounded teaspoons onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for about 9 minutes. (The recipe says 10-12 minutes, but mine were done at 8-9.) Edges should be slightly browned. Cool on a wired rack.

Put a couple spoonfuls of powdered sugar into a small bowl. Slowly add a small amount of lemon juice to the sugar and stir to combine after each addition. You are looking for a thick but runny consistency. Once it’s ready, drizzle over cooled cookies with a fork or knife.


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

