Skip to content

home-baked wheat thins

Saturday, February 19, 2011

Growing up I LOVED Wheat Thins. We always had them on hand and I ate them plain, with cheese, or dipped into anything. I probably still love them, but haven’t bought them in years. After looking at the ingredients, I wasn’t impressed with a few things I saw. Maybe I should take second look and see if they have improved. Well, just the other day I came across a blog posting that featured wheat thins made from scratch. The recipe was incredibly simple and I knew I had to give it a try.

The dough came together in no time and was easy to roll out. I enjoyed these with a schmear of cream cheese and smoked salmon. I’m not going to go into detail regarding the ingredients and process, but instead have you visit Tracy’s Culinary Adventures where I read this recipe. I will say, you don’t need anything special to make these. You really will have everything you need in the pantry. This recipe could easily be made dairy free by using Earth Balance butter sticks for all you vegan and dairy-free folks out there.

The flavor is so good. I know that Wheat Thins come in a variety of flavors now and I can’t wait to experiment in creating flavors at home. I hope you visit Tracy’s Culinary Adventures for this recipe, it is a keeper!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

