Skip to content

macarons: first attempt

Sunday, March 27, 2011

I’ve been wanting to bake these for some time now and I’m glad I finally attempted to. My macarons are far from perfect, but I was surprised out how well they turned out, I thought for sure I messed up numerous times. I already know what I did wrong and will see how it goes the next time.

French macarons are popping up everywhere in the US right now and are growing in popularity. There are three new macaron cookbooks being released in April alone. They are a delicate meringue and almond flour sandwich cookie with a filling. They have a crisp outer coating with a wonderful chewy center. There are beautiful window displays of these all over Paris that lure you into stores where you buy too many. You can’t buy just one when there are so many colors and flavors to choose from.

For my first go at, I made strawberry macarons. I had dehydrated strawberries that I ground up in the food processor and added to the batter. I went easy on myself for the filling and used strawberry jam. The shells alone took me an entire afternoon after all! My time spent was worth it because when I bit into these, I was in heaven.

I should be flat, not pointy.

I’m not going to give a recipe for these in this post because I’m still researching and testing which recipes I like best. Plus, aesthetically speaking they aren’t pretty yet. They tasted great though! I wanted to share my photos with you and will continue to write about my macaron journey. If you would like to see what a beautiful macaron looks like, check out Canelle et Vanille, you will be impressed. It was her recipe that I used also.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Susie permalink
    Sunday, March 27, 2011 2:31 pm

    Heather..I think you need to bring some in to work and I can do a taste test (LOL) !!!! Ummmmmm they look good !!

  2. Teri McFarlane permalink
    Monday, March 28, 2011 6:12 pm

    They look absolutley delicious Heather!

  3. Monday, April 4, 2011 2:01 pm

    These macarons look amazing. Love the pretty color combination. I am always looking for ways to use extra preserves and I can add this to my list of tasty options. I am envisioning all sorts of wonderful combinations in my head. I’ve never made them before but you have definitely inspired me to try them.

    By the way,you photographed them beautifully too!

    • Wednesday, April 6, 2011 10:39 pm

      Thanks for stopping by and the nice words. The creativity is endless with these. I can’t wait to come up with more ideas.

Leave a Reply

